Featured post
Hello and Welcome to my Blog!
A-k-a, my public learning diary for my 3D animation degree and since graduating, my free-time independent 3D studies and personal projects ...
Showing posts with label Scripting. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Scripting. Show all posts
Friday, 13 January 2017
Screen to Script - Beauty and the Beast
Learning to use adobe story for the first time the task for this lesson was to take a clip from youtube and reverse engineer it back into a script. I chose to do a clip from Disney's Beauty and the beast.
Sunday, 16 October 2016
Animating Balls: Key Framing, Scripting and Dynamic Simulation
Key framing using the Graph Editor:
![]() |
| Frame 1: Translate Y = 10 Frame 20: Translate Y = -10 Frame 40: Translate Y = 10 View > Infinity Curves > Pre Infinity > Cycle Curves > Post Infinity > Cycle |
Scripting using the Expression Editor:
Select object > Channel Box > Translate Y > Edit > Expressions
Type in: Scripted_Ball.translateY=sin(time*5)*10;

Sin = Wave
(time*5) = Frequency of the wave (how often it repeats).
*10 = Movement/Height of the wave.
; = end of script.
Simulation using Forces and Fields:
FX menu
(Select ball) Fields/Solvers > Create Active Rigid Body
(Select floor) Fields/Solvers > Create Passive Rigid Body
(Select ball) Fields/Solvers > Gravity (in channel box) Magnitude: 50.
Select frame 1 and the ball, Edit > Keys > Bake Simulation Options > Reset Settings
This key frames everything.
(Select ball) Edit > Delete All By Type > Rigid Bodies.
Animating Balls: Key Framing, Scripting and Dynamic Simulation
Key framing using the Graph Editor:
![]() |
| Frame 1: Translate Y = 10 Frame 20: Translate Y = -10 Frame 40: Translate Y = 10 View > Infinity Curves > Pre Infinity > Cycle Curves > Post Infinity > Cycle |
Scripting using the Expression Editor:
Select object > Channel Box > Translate Y > Edit > Expressions
Type in: Scripted_Ball.translateY=sin(time*5)*10;

Sin = Wave
(time*5) = Frequency of the wave (how often it repeats).
*10 = Movement/Height of the wave.
; = end of script.
Simulation using Forces and Fields:
FX menu
(Select ball) Fields/Solvers > Create Active Rigid Body
(Select floor) Fields/Solvers > Create Passive Rigid Body
(Select ball) Fields/Solvers > Gravity (in channel box) Magnitude: 50.
Select frame 1 and the ball, Edit > Keys > Bake Simulation Options > Reset Settings
This key frames everything.
(Select ball) Edit > Delete All By Type > Rigid Bodies.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)








